Story: ASEAN Scholarship’s Selection Test

Well, I’m so shocked when I open my email inbox on September 3, 2009. Why? There is an email from Ministry of Education of Singapore. Very wonderful!
The title of the email is “Y2010 ASEAN SCHOLARSHIPS FOR INDONESIA – SELECTION TEST IN SURABAYA”
O, yeah! I remember! I’ve registered for ASEAN Scholarship around 2 months later. And I thought I’m not selected by MOE, because MOE said in their website, that the test would be held on middle of august. But until the end of august, there isn’t email from MOE for me. So I thought that I’m not selected for this test……
But the fact, I’m selected!! Oh my goodness!

The contents of the email:
Dear Candidate,

We are pleased to inform that you have been short listed for the Y2010 ASEAN Scholarships for Indonesia Selection Tests in Surabaya.

You should have received an original test call letter to inform you on the details of the selection tests. In the event you do not receive the original test call letter prior to the test date, please print out this email and bring it with you on the day of the selection tests for identification purpose. Do note your class number as indicated in the email below. Your class number will be required for attendance taking when you report at the test venue.

It is important to note that you are required to submit photocopies of supporting documents such as identity card, birth certificate or passport, result slips and certificates/ testimonials to us. Details are also given in the email below.

We look forward to your presence at the selection tests.

Thank you.

But, do you know? At that time (Friday, 3 September), I’m not in Surabaya. I’m in Pare, guys! Very far from Surabaya, why I’m in Pare? Because I study English in Pare… people called Pare as English village. So I’m very confused… because I haven’t submitted photocopies of supporting documents. Directly I called my family in Surabaya, I ask my parents to help me to collect my documents. But… my result slip was lost!! And I haven’t prepared to my selection test. There are many problems, guys!

The next day…
I decided to go to internet café to browse about the material of selection test, and about everything about this scholarship. I’m so afraid because I haven’t prepared anything for this test. O my god! And I spent a lot of time to browse everything about the scholarship and the test. I spent 3 hours in internet café!

After that I go back to my dormitory, and I called my parents (again). They said that I have to go home as soon as possible. I have to prepare everything about the test and about the scholarship. I have to find my result slip (o, where is my fucking result slip???). I decided to go home on Monday, September 7, 2009. I can’t go home sooner than that time, because I have final exam on my course in Pare on Monday. I will go home after the final exam.

Monday, September 6, 2009
I wake up at the morning, and I thought that’s better for me to prepare to pack all of my goods to go home tomorrow. I just have a little time to prepare that all. So I prepare all, I pack all of my goods that I will bring to my home tomorrow.
After I finished all, I see a little chance to go home today. I can leave my final exam; it doesn’t really matter, because the scholarship is more important for me. Yeah! That’s better for me to go home today!
So I called my parents (again and again), and said to them that I’ll go home today!!! Surabaya, I’m coming!!!
Then, I take a bath, and got dressed, and everything is ready! I ready to go to the bus stop, wait for my bus that will carry me to Surabaya. I’m ready to see Surabaya again! I miss Surabaya! The bus come at 13.00… and this is the first time on my life; I go to another city by bus alone! I ever go to another city alone, but never go by bus! I’m little scared, but everything just fine…

At 17.00, I arrived in my lovely home…

How about the test?? Probably I’ll tell you the story next time, next episode…
See you on my next story!!

5 thoughts on “Story: ASEAN Scholarship’s Selection Test

  1. Good luck Izza! I received the same letter 11 years ago ^^ I took the road not taken..
    (baca puisinya “The ROad not Taken” by Robert Frost deh.. dulu aku ditunjukkin puisi itu sama english teacher waktu pertama datang ke singapur)

    ***

    The Road Not Taken – Robert Frost

    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that, the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    Like

  2. what the heck!! hehe.. it’s a good luck to find your note. I’ve been searching in the internet for a long time “why haven’t they sent me a letter?!!”
    It’s written that the selection is on August but now it’s almost the end of August. I’m losing hope.. T-T

    But now i think i still have some chances. Thank you very much.. ^^

    Like

    • if I’m not mistaken, you dont need to send CV, just fill in the application form online. If your marks is qualified then you’ll surely be selected for the written test.

      Like

Leave a Reply

